Tags

, , , , , , , ,

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We lit up one of our coolest products, the “rocket” stove, and did spontaneous demonstrations and mini-charlas in the streets to promote it. The rocket stove is perfect for cooking beans or nixtamal (the first step of making tortillas).

This weekend, as always, was jam-packed. Saturday morning, we woke up bright and early for a campaign in Pana – the first campaign I personally coordinated! It was not a particularly successful campaign sales-wise, but we were able to generate a lot of awareness about SolCom and about the existence of the SolCom Centro in Solola, which is always good.

My purchases from the weekend - handmade ceramic mugs from San Antonio and a straw hat from ChiChi

My purchases from the weekend – handmade ceramic mugs from San Antonio and a straw hat from ChiChi

The rest of the afternoon was one of those perfect Guatemalan afternoons where things just work out as they should. After a delayed fourth of july celebratory barbecue lunch, Bo and I hopped on a pick-up around the lake, heading to San Antonio. I’d never been before but I’m now convinced that the tiny town boasts some of the most beautiful views of the lake I’ve seen yet. San Antonio is known for their handcrafted and handpainted ceramics, so I bought a pair of gorgeous blue mugs to start outfitting my still relatively bare apartment. After returning from San Antonio, we stopped off at the famous Crossroads coffee and then went to a belated fourth of july barbecue at a friend’s house.

On Sunday morning, I woke up early again for a daytrip to Chichicastanengo, known for having the largest open-air market in Central America, with my friend Alyssa, founder of the amazing ethical fashion company Hiptipico. “ChiChi” was full of row after row of brightly colored tipico products – bags, belts, shoes, rugs, fabrics, and more. It was overwhelming to say the least, but I was so glad to be with someone who knew her way around, knew the standard prices, and often even knew the artisans since I’m still not an expert at haggling (almost a requirement when shopping here!).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Then this morning, we loaded up the micro once again for another windy drive back in Antigua. I’ll be here for a full two weeks this time around – for wrap-up week for this group of students and the welcome week for our incoming group – and I’m really looking forward to getting to know the city better and having some bonding time with my co-workers.

